Progress requires decisions

I am so very close to getting my Etsy store up and running. I don’t have a lot of products to post in the store, meaning not an over abundance of one or two types of purses but I think I need to know how it will be accepted within the Etsy buyer community.  My hurtle right now is which purses I should focus on for the store.  I don’t want to overwhelm myself by posting several different types and then not being able to keep up with the orders.  I know that it will go slow at first unless I’m lucky enough like my step-daughter who got 150 orders for her decals within the first hour!  She had over 4,000 followers over on her Instagram account and when she posted that she was offering these cute little breastfeeding decals for the back of phones it was crazy!  She’s been very successful after that offering onesies and other items all based around mothers who breastfeed.

I know that the purses will need to be fairly easy to make using beautiful fabrics that will inspire people to buy.  My choices right now are the Phoebe bag, the Buttercup bag both in the small version and large version.

I want to make accessories to go along with those purses, so my choices are the wallet I’ve made twice now and I want to make coin purses. Coin purse I just love those little coin purses.  Brings back many memories of my grandma bringing hers out when I would ask for a nickel for the gum machine! 🙂

I would also like to offer items for kids. I know my grandkids just love getting their own little purses, totes, backpacks, and messenger bags. This will need to come after the store is open.  I just can’t anticipate what will sell and what won’t.  Every time I start to think about this topic my ideas just explode out of control and then I have to reel myself in and set one or two goals and shoot to complete them.  I simply enjoy sewing and creating.  I look at fabrics and even clothes at thrift stores differently.  I recently bought a wool skirt that I am going to repurpose into a purse called the Sweetheart bag.

I shop at Ebay often, looking at fabrics especially ones from Japan and searching for purse supplies that I can pick up at a very low cost.  I recently scored on 100 zippers for $0.16 each!  It was a grab bag but all are new and come in a variety of sizes and colors!

Moving forward which is always good.  There are a lot of things that need to take place prior to opening.  My very creative boyfriend is currently working on my logo and I would like to purchase custom labels that will be sewn into each bag.  I’ve looked at so many sites that offer labels I think I have gone label crazy cause they all offer good prices and quality products.

I am sure whatever plans I put in place will more than likely change or evolve once I get the store running.

Thanks for stopping by

Ali

Leave a Reply

