A Mother’s Request

In my weekly conversations to my mother either via email or phone I told her about what I was doing while I was feverishly looking for gainful employment (as she calls it).  She does support me in all of my endeavors, but she’s turning 78 on March 4th and I find her bit closed minded as she gets older.  ha ha ha.  She called me up about 2 weeks ago and asked if I wouldn’t mind making her a scripture bag.  She’s LDS and has a quad that holds all of the necessary scriptures and I thought…”Ok not such a big bag, something small possibly a zipper or tie to close it”.  Then she proceeds to tell me that she will need it big enough for her Relief Society book and maybe an Ensign that she likes to carry around. So now we are talking a bit bigger.  Well turns out she wants a BIG bag.  She sent me a pattern that she picked up and was going to make herself, but she hasn’t sewed anything for YEARS.  She moved from sewing to quilting in her 40’s and stop quilting in her mid 60’s. She’s the kind of lady that likes to buy things that are great ideas but will never do them.  HA HA HA…sometimes I am like that too.  I wonder where I get it from. 🙂

IMG_1185So…she mailed me a pattern.   I told her that I may not make the pattern she sent me if I didn’t think it would be a suitable bag for her needs.  Thanks goodness she agreed…definitely not suitable because she mentioned she didn’t want the wooden handle before I even saw the pattern.

The pattern I ended up making for her was a Swoon pattern called the Ethel Tote.  You can also see other Swoon patterns here.

The finished dimensions are a tad larger than the pattern because it was to be printed on A4 size paper and I didn’t make any adjustments to my margins or anything but the test 3″ block was 3.25″

The finished dimensions are:

11″ wide at top
14″ wide at bottom
5.5″ deep
11″ tall (not including the handles)

The other thing about this bag is that it uses wide stiff fusible interfacing (Pellon Craft-fuse 808) on EVERYTHING and on top of the exterior you use fusible fleece.  The bottom is a hard bottom so it uses fusible stiff stabilizer (Pellon Peltex 71F).  I love a hard bottom bag but because of the stiff interfacing it was very difficult to turn and in fact I ripped out a few stitches while turning which had to be repaired.

IMG_1184I really like the stability of this bag, BUT if I get the opportunity to make it again I won’t be using the 808 on the lining.  I like a lining that is softer and the outside is already very stiff with using both the 808 and fusible fleece. My recommendation would be to use a light to mid-weight interfacing on the lining.  This bag also has an outside pocket, inside pocket and a zippered pocket.  I didn’t make the zippered pocket because my mother didn’t want it.

The materials used were:

Main fabric –  45″ Home Essentials Fabric – SMC Alameda Panorama Marzipan

Lining fabric –  Keepsake Calico Fabric Fahrenheit Tan Vine

Unfortunately I could find the orange, green, gray and turquoise at the Joann fabrics website but not the tan. 😦

I really do hope my mother will like the bag.  I posted it over on my FB page and my Aunt Meredith (my mother’s sister) said she’ll love it!  I certainly hope so.  It won’t get to her by the fourth but maybe if I’m lucky I can get it to her before Sunday.  🙂

I’m off to do something a little less intense….a few zippered pouches are calling my name.

Thanks for stopping by

Ali 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kieravanella
    Mar 03, 2015 @ 11:55:45

    Wow! Another beautiful finish. I love it!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

