Found Treasures!!

On my recent trip to the local thrift store I came upon some great material.  Most of the time I stay away from the bundles that are rolled up with a rubber band.  The reason being, the people who put those rolled up bundles together have no clue what they are bundling and for the price they sell it at 9 out of 10 times there is a considerable amount of material (scraps) that I will never use for one reason or another.

IMG_1208However, I hit the jackpot on my last trip.  See that Lovebug black material???  I found that exact material on Ebay for just one fat quarter…$6.50!  This bundle cost me a mere $4.99!! And that Lovebug material is nearly a fat quarter!!  Total SCORE!  The red Hawaiian material…I will definitely use for lining in something.  Now the plaid/flower black material that was an odd piece.  I love it and was excited to use it but when I opened after I got it home whomever bought it originally used ONLY the plaid material.  They completely left the flower piece along both borders alone!  Now I was in a funk…what was I going to do with it!!??

IMG_1210Here’s my answer!! I made the small version of the Buttercup bag and it worked out great!!  In fact I could probably make two more of these bags utilizing just the flower section of the material!!

IMG_1209My second treasure found at the thrift store was great.  It actually consisted of like material in both color and type.  I will definitely use this as lining in bags.

IMG_1206My last treasure was not found at the thrift store but at Ebay.  I found some beautiful Japanese material and bought it.  Was a bit steep at $16.00 for just over one yard but I think If I pair it with some great wooden handles that I recently received from a seller at Ebay It will be a great looking bag or two….maybe even three!! I’m even thinking of spray painting a set of the wooden handles to match a color from the fabric.  My son thought it was totally cool that I actually got material from Japan.  He gets the mail everyday and was totally wigged out when he saw on the package that I got mail from Japan!  LOL

So there you have it….Treasures!!  I also found a great wool skirt for half off…cost a mere $3.50.  I will be able to make another Sweetheart bag or even two this time!

Have a great rest of your day and Thanks for stopping by!

Ali 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 02:58:18

    I have to go to your thrift shops! They have good stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. kieravanella
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 10:46:22

    While I await the return of my sewing mojo, I look forward to all your sewing projects!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

