A Special Gift

Today I spent most of the day making a new bag I have never made before.  I like making new bags, but I hate it too.  🙂  The process in making something that I am not familiar with is quite tedious.  I read through the instructions at least twice and then I still get lost or messed up during the construction of putting it together.  However, it’s all for a good reason.  There is a young lady missionary that is in desperate need for a new tote because the one she carries with her is very dilapidated.  I wanted to give her something that reminded her of home (Hawaii) and was a good sturdy bag.  IMG_1216

I scrolled through many bags before I decided on the Hobo bag that can be found over at Patternpile.com   You can’t really tell unless you click on the picture but the handles are attached to the purse with D rings and the handles are tied together.

The overall process of making this bag is not for the beginner sewer only because the instructions for making the section of the purse that is for the D rings was really not very clear.  I also didn’t follow the instructions for the zippered pocket or the magnetic snap.  There is a process I do for each of those which is very easy and quick.  In fact, today I felt pretty victorious when I completed this zippered pocket because with every one I do I get better and it look good!  🙂

I will be seeing the young lady at church on Sunday and she has no clue that I am making her a tote so I hope she loves it.

Thanks for stopping by

Ali  🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kieravanella
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 11:04:46

    Love the bright and cheery fabric.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

