Bump in the road…

Well…I didn’t get the store ready. 😦  My original idea was to set apart my store items from others found at Etsy.  I wanted to find a local antique store to use as a backdrop and then in the description of the item mention their name, website, etc.  I dropped the ball and decided to just take the pictures outside in natural lighting.

My boyfriend viewed the pics and said….”they look kinda “Yard Saleish” to me.”  He wasn’t trying to insult me (aside from the fact I was using the “camera” I had which is my crappy smart phone!) and I value his opinion cause he’s an artist in his own right and does beautiful hand drawn work!  Then I looked at them again and said…”yea…they kinda do.” “What happened to your original idea, honey …that was a great one?”

So after our talk I decided that If I really wanted to make an impression and not saying that it will change anything, but if I’m going to give my store the best shot I should stick with the plan.  So I found two potential antique stores and will be seeing them tomorrow if everything works out.  ( I was kinda bummed out today…and here is why.)  Sunday evening came around and I realized after doing some reading, I won’t be eligible for an extension on my unemployment funds.  Apparently Washington state is no longer in a “HIGH” unemployment phase and they have eliminated extensions.  I have been looking for work diligently since October when I became unemployed. I have interviewed, filled out and been scrutinized many times over since then and NOTHING….zip..zilch.  I have the mad skills but truly in this day in age, it’s not what you know but WHO you know.  I know nobody here!  I am down to my last 6 weeks on unemployment and I’m a bit worried.  I certainly don’t want to be a burden on my BF and we’ve talked about this and he’s totally ok with it and not worried at all. 🙂  But that doesn’t alleviate my personal feelings of responsibility.

So last night and today I thought about what to do, prayed about what to do and I have a plan for when the 6 weeks comes and goes without a paycheck.  Funny thing….and it truly still amazes me when things are (what we feel) at their bleakest a sunshineray of sunshine comes through.  My BF’s sister-in-law, who works for the State of Oregon asked me if I’d be interested in a temp job!  I was like YES!!  Then at that very same time, I got an email from a local Engineering/Surveying firm asking me for an interview!  Skippity-do-da!  More than anything I would simply LOVE LOVE to sew full-time, selling my purses, bags and totes! ❤

The potential job interview and opening certainly doesn’t mean I will get either, but it’s still refreshing that I’m being listened to. 🙂  Needless to say, my day up until that point was rather ho-hum and I didn’t even want to sew but forced myself to at least make one purse.   So tomorrow, I have three purses to make, an antique store to go visit and to continue to give thanks to the Lord for listening to me.  🙂

Thanks for stopping by

Ali 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kieravanella
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 10:41:21

    Praying with you that you find work until you can do what you really want to do…sell your beautiful purses. God does indeed provide.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

