Design Challenge

Jeans-Fashion-BagDIY-Old-Jeans-Fashion-Bag

Here is something that I have never done before.  I came across that bag in the picture on Pinterest and wanted to make it out of fabric.  It has 5 panels that make up the front and back and figured 2 coordinating main fabrics would be beautiful.  Now, here comes the problem.  Site after site there was just these pics of a process to put the bag together, no written instructions and clearly not a complete pic tutorial and the only pattern was all the pieces shrunk down onto an 8.5″ x 11″ sheet of paper.

Lucky for me my boyfriend is very creative and artist in his own rights and has several drawing software programs on his computer.  I gave him the pic with the pieces and he was able to extract the images from the pic and size them to my dimensions that I wanted.  🙂  BUT..because I have never designed a pattern for actual sewing, some of my dimensions and such were off a bit.  While the images that he built matched together perfectly like a puzzle and exactly what I had asked him to do, when you finally sit down and try to sew it together the flaws in the design start shinning through.

So after picking out just those pieces that didn’t quite work together and manually re-adjusting them the project is coming along quite well. I’m happy to say that I only had to adjust two of the pieces so far and I’m nearly complete with the drafting project.  I cut out the five panels for the front and the body and top part of the lining for the back to see if the bag would come together.

Once I work out the kinks and pick out the fabric I am definitely going to make this bag.  My boyfriend wants to make the pattern in a pdf format and sell but I explained I wasn’t sure of the legality of that since it wasn’t our design in the first place.  Every site I went to when looking for this bag was a blog of someone who just posted the pics as a tutorial.  I have no idea who made this bag originally but its a great looking bag and I may even make it out of some old jeans that I find at the local thrift store.

I will post the finished project here. 🙂

Thanks for stopping by

Ali:)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kieravanella
    Apr 14, 2015 @ 10:37:44

    That’s a great bag! Can’t wait to see your version. And…I totally get the legality of the pattern issue…it can be a problem with Pinterest.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

