Disappointed

IMG_0081

I can honestly say this bag is very disappointing.  Where do I start telling you all the things that is wrong with this one.  Let’s start by telling you what’s awesome.

First, I love the print!  Fell in love with it when I saw it at the fabric store but now totally wasted on this bag that I will never make again.  Second, the roominess inside the bag is great.  The name of this bag is Off to the Market bag and I can see why, because you could literally take this bag to your Farmers Market and use it for all your needs.

Third and last, the actual shape is great!  I changed only one thing and that is the handles.  It asked for wooden handles, but I made fabric handles.  I can only imagine what turning it would have been like had there been wooden handles to deal with as well.

Now…let’s discuss what’s wrong with it.

The designer requested the use of 70F Peltex stable interfacing. If you’ve ever used it, it is really sturdy, like hard cardboard.  I used 71F.  The only difference is one is sewn-in and mine is fused.  Now I use 72F for all  my hard bottom bags which is why I was so taken back by the 70F in the materials listing for the outer portion of the bag.

This bag consists of five outer pieces. Front, back, two sides, and a bottom.  All of which has the 71F fused onto it.  Have you ever tried to sew two pieces of cardboard together. Well, sewing the bottom and two sides worked well but when I needed to add the front and back it was murder.  I think the designer had a commercial size sewing machine. Granted my machine is very old, but just trying to sew this thing up was so trying on my hands, I think I still have cramps from it.

So, the bag’s outer shell is constructed and now I have to add handles, the flap and the lining.  Not to difficult, but when sewing  around the top..again…the most painful process for not only my machine but my  hands as well.  And turning it was a complete JOKE.  The mere 3″ gap was clearly not big enough.  However, I don’t like giving up on projects, especially after I spend the entire day working on it.

I’d really love this bag and find it store worthy if I would of had a better machine I think.  My stitches are not consistent because of the sheer thickness of the bag. I can’t in good conscious sell this to anyone.  SO…this bag will find a home with someone who won’t care that my stitches are not up to my standards.

Also, that 71F peltex is not very forgiving when you are turning.  Like most fabric bags once you turn it you can smooth out any wrinkles with an iron. Not this stuff…there is no love in that stuff.  So the sides look really crinkly.  The bottom is even more crinkly. (Is that even a word..ha ha ha.  Yep! I just looked it up.) I also don’t have a small enough iron to get down the sides.  I may need to check into getting one of those.

IMG_0085

So, I wanted to make this bag because I liked the look of it and IF I ever make this bag again, I will NOT use the 71F Peltex, maybe a heavy weight for the sides and main body and of course the 72F for the bottom but I fear it would take away from what the bag does so beautifully and that is stand up straight.

I’ve also seriously thought of having a beta testing group!  I would consider adding some friends to that group but too many times your friends don’t want to hurt your feelings.  Ha ha ha.  I have one that would not sugar coat it for me. Anyway, I’ll have to think more about the group cause I do feel that it would be helpful to me. So many of my “first-time” bags are not sale worthy for many reasons.  It’s the first one and I might have one to many flaws by my standards in the bag or it simply just doesn’t come out like I thought It would.  The beta testing group would get a bag (for free…did I mention that!) that I want feedback on.  Like durability, user friendly, possible improvements through the course of using it, etc.  This one definitely needs to find a home and I’m definitely going back to the fabric store and crossing my finger hoping they still have some of this fabric!!

Tomorrow….I am going to work on the design challenge bag that I posted about.  I just gotta pick out the fabrics…which is taking me too long to figure out. 😦

Thanks for stopping by

Ali 🙂

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kieravanella
    Apr 16, 2015 @ 10:59:08

    I’ve used the Peltex on bags before and I agree…it’s a challenge to say the least. I also didn’t like the crinkly effect it left after turning. I actually started out making bags…Amy Butler patterns and the like. Let me know if you ever start that testing group. At least I have some experience making bags and would love to help!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Creations by Ali
    Apr 16, 2015 @ 13:47:57

    I love Amy Butler bags and her fabric! Thank you I will put you on the top of the list. I need to figure out all the logistics but it’s something I think would be beneficial to my craft.

    Like

    Reply

  3. kieravanella
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 09:57:35

    Just came across this today…do you think this would work for you lovely bags instead of the Peltex
    http://www.amazon.com/ByAnnies-Soft-Stable-36X58-White/dp/B00JH0UORS/ref=sr_1_9?ie=UTF8&qid=1429203144&sr=8-9&keywords=annie%27s+soft+and+stable

    Like

    Reply

    • Creations by Ali
      Apr 17, 2015 @ 13:27:24

      I’ve seen that product listed on many of my projects. I believe it’s similar to fusible fleece but not sure. I’ll have to see if my local store carries it and investigate. Thank you 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • kieravanella
        Apr 17, 2015 @ 16:55:53

        I’m wondering myself if it will be like a cross between the fusible fleece and the Peltex. Giving the firmness of the peltex but the ease of fusible fleece…esp. when it comes to turning.

        Like

  4. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 20:20:31

    I thought the fabric was fabulous too! The placement of the bird is perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Creations by Ali
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 20:22:03

    Yes I wanted to showcase the bird! AND I’m happy to announce that I was able to find more of that fabric. Very little…but more. Enough to make another project! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  6. Creations by Ali
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 20:32:00

    I’m thinking about making the Ethel Tote again out of the fabric.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

