Design Challenge Final…and more

Yesterday was a lot of little successes for me!  I’ve nearly been out of work for 6 months and I’ve been doing A LOT of praying these past weeks. Yesterday was a bonanza for me.  It started out on Monday. I applied for a couple of jobs the week earlier and on Monday I got not one but TWO calls for interviews to happen on Thursday.  The first was a phone interview at 9am and the second an interview locally at 4pm.  To make a long story short.  I nailed both of them and would really like to get a job offer from the second place I interviewed for.  But here’s the kicker….on my way to the interview I got a phone call from ANOTHER potential employer asking for an interview!!  That one is scheduled for Wednesday.

Here’s the other success.  In working on my design challenge I though I would need a bit more of a challenge so I decided to use screw-in grommets on my bag.  The reason is…the only grommets that I can get my hands on locally to use with my tool is silver (a dull silver) and gold..which I’m not found of.  I wanted antique brass looking ones.  Well….after two trips to the fabric store to get some advice on the screw-in grommets and purchase swivel clips with D rings (here’s a funny…those swivel clips and D rings are marketed as Dog Leash Clasps but are in the purse making supply isle!)  I was able to slowly and methodically get those babies in!

As you can see from the pictures, there is some tiny fragments of material left over that is visual to the eye.  I’m okay with this only because they were my first set.  The first one was hard as heck but by the time I got to the fourth one I was nearly a pro!  I need to invest in a small pair of scissors for this purpose. I was using my material cutting out scissors.  Too big for the job at hand.

And the last success…I finished the bag!  I put the finishing touches on the bag this morning making the handles and sewing them onto the D rings.  I wanted a rounded corded handle and was in the process of making one using a tutorial I had found but in my haste to get the bag completed I didn’t realize that the handle was to be sewn in.  I know this is not an issue, but I didn’t account for that and therefore the handles would have been too short.  But..nothing get tossed here.  I will use those rounded handles on another bag!

The glass beads on the front of the bag was a spur of the moment kind of thing.  It shows a bow, but I really didn’t want to make it look to frilly so I pulled out my tool box that is full of jewelry making supplies ( I use to make jewelry..lost the passion for it).  Found the glass beads …and there you have it.  I also didn’t add any zippered pockets or magnetic snap to this bag because I wan’t quite sure how it would turn out.  BUT…my mind is now racing with ideas of fabric and zippered pockets!  I think putting a zippered pocket on the back would be a great addition!  OH..and one inside as well!

I was going to post this without any pictures…but I think that would be cruel…good joke…but cruel!  LOL

Oops…left this one out…..I found more of that bird material at the fabric store!  I was ecstatic!  Nearly missed it because it was almost gone so it was squished between two larger bolts!

IMG_0088IMG_0089_2IMG_0093_2IMG_0092_2 IMG_0091 IMG_0090_2

My next project is a back pack for my granddaughter Marley!

Thanks for stopping by!

Ali 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kieravanella
    Apr 20, 2015 @ 09:46:51

    Great job! And good luck with all your interviews!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

