Creating

What is it about creating items with your two hands that gives you such pleasure??  For me its a personal sense of accomplishment especially if the project was difficult.  Creating gifts for friends or family brings such inner joy to me that there really are no words to express how it makes me feel.  Even a simple project that takes only a few hours to complete is very gratifying.

I just finished making my granddaughter’s birthday gift.

IMG_0109 IMG_0108

These two pics show the project in progress.  I made this from a pattern by Made By Rae.  In her instructions she did say she used canvas cotton which is a bit sturdier. I on the other had used quilters cotton but added a heavy interfacing as per the suggestion.  However, once the bag was completed…and I do mean completed (without the lining), it didn’t stand like a backpack does…SO… my crazy thought was to add Peltex 71F.  I was hoping and praying it would work without ruining the fabric or having any complications, and I figured the lining would of course hide it.  My crazy idea paid off!  It took extremely high heat on the iron and a cotton cloth I used in between the fabric and the hot iron. It also took TIME…I had to make sure the entire front and back piece adhered to the fabric because a six year old was going to be using it.

IMG_0119IMG_0115IMG_0114

Here are the pics from the completed project.  It stands up nicely and has a cute hot pink lining.  Of course I had to add the zipper pulley with her name “Marley Marz”  Marz is not her last name, it’s a nickname.  She once did a impromptu rap about pickles so she was dubbed Marley Marz.  Cutest darn rap about pickles I had ever heard!  It was recorded and uploaded on to social media. I am sure one day her parents will pull it out and show it to her. 🙂

I’m hoping to deliver the birthday present over Mother’s day weekend!!  She doesn’t know she’s getting it.IMG_0697

This is Marley.  Her brother Nicho is also a cutie pie.  His birthday is in August.  So I have a little bit of time and planning for his present.

Thanks for stopping by

Ali 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kieravanella
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:38:24

    Wow!! That came out beautiful! Great job! What a lucky little girl!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

