My Owl Family

IMG_0164IMG_0165

I’ve been wanting to try my hand at doing a simple appliqué.  So I did….the result you see is above.  I think it looks pretty darn good other than in the pic on the right, I didn’t stay inside the circle far enough and so I barely caught the edge.  Now I’m itching to do something a tad more complicated.  Now I really wish I had an embroidery machine!

Now that I have ONE appliqué under my belt, I thought I would try it out on a real project.  Please excuse my hands in the picture and if you look close enough you’ll see powder residue.  I wear latex gloves when gluing cause I don’t like getting the glue on my fingers.  Please pardon any glue on the frame.   I’ve wiped it off since taking these pics.  So..there you see, my appliqué!!

IMG_0169 IMG_0167

The next little item I put together was a zippered pouch!  Zippered pouches are like a love hate relationship.  I love them but hate the zipper part.  I’ve tried numerous ways to install the zipper ends, and no matter what I try my end result NEVER ends up looking like the tutorial I used.

Case in point.

zipper pouch

I used the Sew Minty: A Zipper Pouch Tutorial.  I followed the directions to the letter.  See those ends…I love that look very neat, not puckered..good job.

Mine…..not so good.

IMG_0170IMG_0171

If you enlarge the picture, you can see the right side, where the zipper pulley is, is all puckered.  I even went back in and tried to do anything to ease the pucker.  I didn’t spend the time in setting up theses pics, so I apologize.

Overall, I like the pouch because I love the fabric and the construction of the pouch is really good.  I’m just not happy with the zipper.  Practice Practice Practice, is what I need to do.  🙂 In trying to make accessories for my owl bag, I added the antique brass swivel clip to match the bag I made yesterday! 🙂

There you have it…I used up the owl material.  I was able to salvage a few more round appliqués that I can use on other projects.  Now all I have to do is decide….what’s next?  🙂

Thanks for stopping by!

Ali 🙂

Leave a Reply

