Redirecting focus

My long dry spell of being unemployed has finally been kicked to the curb.  I’m happy and sad at the same time.  I know that building a business out of crafting takes time, effort, patience, cash flow, more patience and definitely more cash flow.  🙂  I have all of those except the cash flow, hence…the reason I needed to find gainful employment.  I’ve worked as an Executive Assistant most of my 15+ years in the work force and I enjoy it, but I have certainly loved doing what I have been doing for the past 4+ months.  It was back in January that I got tired of just sitting around so I started that ol’ sewing machine up and I haven’t stopped since.

Now that I have to go to work tomorrow….I’m feeling a little sad.  However, I have thought about how to continue doing what I love, and for pete sakes I have so much material in my sewing room I have to do something with it.  So between working, house chores, life in general, I will still be sewing.  I’ve gone too far to turn back.  In fact, we (the boyfriend and I) are planning on attending, as a vendor, the farmers market that is here every Saturday. What I like about that best are the hours.  One day from 9am to 3pm which means I really don’t have to have a huge inventory to show up.  One day events are easier to attend than two or three day events which would need a lot more inventory.

With my impending work day, I thought I would get in one more project.

IMG_0190IMG_0189

This cross-over body bag took me just under five hours to complete from cut-out to finish.  I’ve already posted it on my Etsy store and my IG account.  It’s made from repurposed light weight home decor material that I found at the local thrift store.  I suspect that it was upholstery material only because of its weight.  However, I don’t think this is couch material. Ha ha ha, probably an ottoman, drapes or maybe even a pillow.  Anyway, there were small flaws in the material, as you can see in the picture below.  Not sure what caused it but I was able to cut around most of it.

IMG_0193

When I started this bag, choosing the scraps for the flap, I wasn’t sure if it would look right with the main material.  The pattern called for a solid color, but I think I did pretty good pulling the purple out of the main bag color.  I really like this bag and think that the solid blue fabric I have would be great using hues of blues (ha ha that rhymes), in the flap.  I’m feeling pretty accomplished today.  🙂  I think I will make me a lunch bag for my first day to work.  A girl has gotta eat lunch, and why not make something for myself!

Thanks for stopping by!

Ali 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. The Mountain Queen
    May 05, 2015 @ 20:56:26

    That’s a really pretty bag. Good find with the fabric! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

