The days when……

I had all day long to design and spend hours in my studio going over what purse, bag or tote to make or sketch out some ideas of what the ideal purse would look like.  Now I’m working (which is awesome) and juggling what little free time between, family, crafts, reading books, and being the MOG! (Mother of the Groom)  I had no idea what MOG meant until recently.  I have graciously taken on the responsibility of making the gifts for the Bridesmaids and Matron of Honor.

It’s simply a matter of trying to fit it all in and hoping I don’t lose my mind in the process.  Just recently I wanted to make this purse.

IMG_0504

The problem I am having with this purse is that it’s made like a quilt.  Literally from the inside out! I’ve only made one other purse where you finished all of the outside edges with binding.  My hands were so very sore, it took me at least two days to recover. I am not a quilter and I really love this pattern.  SO…I tried making it by changing up how it was constructed.  I’ve sewed it up, unpicked it and sewed it up again.  Even if I figure it out, the 71F Peltex I’ve used for the gusset has been beaten to a pulp!  I’ve thought about removing the zipper entirely but that is really what I love about this purse! So after working on it for about 2 hours each night for 2 weeks, I’ve given up.  Well….I’ve given up for now because I have to get moving on those wedding gifts.

Here is the clutch purse I am making.

IMG_0515 (1)

But before I break out the fuschia and light pink material, I am going to make this out of Seahawk colors!

I know that when I make anything for the first time, I always find ways to make it quicker or better without losing any quality in the end product.  I certainly don’t want to cut into the material I purchased for the gifts and make some horrible BOO BOO!

There aren’t many hours in the day for me to accomplish all the things that I want to do, something has got to give and lately it’s been my sewing which I love! I NEED to MAKE something….sewing for me is like a drug!  I’ve been beaten up by that purse for the last two weeks with no beautiful end product!  So it’s time to actually make something and when I’m finished with the gifts…I’ll find that despicable purse lurking on my shelf and I will conquer it!!

I remember the days when….. I had hours to spend designing, sewing, lounging.  Heck…that’s what weekends are for…is it not?! 🙂

Thanks for stopping by!

Ali 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!
    Jul 16, 2015 @ 13:06:41

    I know, I wish there were 3 or 4 day long weekends every weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

